H.E.A.T - H.E.A.T II (Album Review)

Debut Part II

When it is time to get back to your roots after trying something new, (that honestly some fans loved, and others hated), H.e.a.t has shown us the proper way of handling such things. Rules, labels, and methods be damned…it’s time to turn up the H.e.a.t.

Return to Form

The Swedish hard rock group returns to the scene. A confirmed release date February 21st will not only knock on your door but plow through your home with their newest album, simply called H.e.a.t II.  This will be the Swedish rocker’s first album since the experimental Into The Great Unknown that came in 2017. The results are absolutely outstanding.

This time that band has decided to keep it all to themselves and do everything from start to finish with their 6th album. They have done it all including getting rid of long-time producer Tobias Lindell and taking their own reins. The results speak for themselves. The band claims that this album goes back to the start, and again redefines what the H.e.a.t sound is. They also have said that this is what an album would be like if they made a debut in 2019.

Adrenaline Personified

With less than a week until the fans can get their sweaty, hungry hands on it, the band has released numerous singles. The first being the video “One by One”. A great cartoon/artistic styled video that perfectly fits the band’s style and confidence in what they do. The song sends a great message out, and still shows the newer bands that this is how it’s done. A straight-ahead rocker with Don Crash brutalizing the drums, and Dave Dalone shredding on the guitar with harshness, and melodic restraint all at once.

H.E.A.T - H.E.A.T II (Album Review)

The next single is truly anthemic. “Rise” is about standing up and making your voice be heard against any force that is standing in your way. Also, the video carries the exact same cartoon/artistic feel as the first creating a great unity from this album so far.

The Fire Still Burns

And that is not it! There are still two other singles still to come. So, an album that has 11 tracks, but has given you 4 singles, basically a quarter of the album, proves just how much the band believes in this album! We also get “Come Clean” and “Dangerous Ground”. Both tracks absolutely kick some serious ass. “Come Clean” carries with it that classic H.e.a.t feel that the fans all know and desire. And “Dangerous Ground” is a fast-paced track with a harder side to it that could almost fit into a Mad Max remake soundtrack. Aside from the singles, there is more still to enjoy.

Getting More H.e.a.t

With this album, you are treated to the melodic, yet incredibly hard and edgy vocals of Erik Gronwall. His lung capacity is simply astounding with the vocals that he pulls off. Standing next to him however is Jimmy Jay on bass, who alongside Don Crash holds the rhythm section together as a perfect unit. Jona Tee adds his own perfect mixture of his keyboard tones to add a dynamic to the songs that bring the music to a whole new level. With all this combined you have a mashup of some incredible talent and skills that raise the bar for many other bands in 2020.

H.E.A.T - H.E.A.T II (Album Review)Debut Part II Perfection

With the four singles that have dropped any fan knows that this album is something special. They wouldn’t be wrong. The songs that have yet to be heard still leave much more to be discovered. “Rock Your Body” is a groove that immediately has you in the pocket wailing on those air guitars and drumming against anything in front of you that will take the punishment. “Victory” is another great tune with incredible musicianship and edgy harmonies. Another is “We Are Gods”. A song that is pushing a hard, menacing vibe onto the listeners.

Another is the great tune, “Adrenaline”. This track has a feel of listening to Eclipse. Trust me, that’s not a bad thing at all. Now there is also a ballad on this album. Many don’t care for ballads and that’s okay, but I promise you that “Heaven Must Have Won an Angel” is so good that you won’t even care, nor hit that skip button! Lastly is “Under The Gun” and “Nothing to Say”.  The latter is a softer track, that starts off with a beautiful keyboard and then an acoustic guitar. The vocal showcase of Erik is really prevalent in this track. With “Under The Gun”, another fun groove is built-in and could almost fit as a sister song to “Rock Your Body”.


If this would have been H.e.a.t’s actual debut, this might have been my debut album of the year. This is a perfect example to all the other up & coming bands out there of how to make a pure and fantastic album. 100% true greatness and I say this with pure conviction. This album is an absolute must for any fan that knows H.e.a.t and a great introduction to those who don’t. A definite two serious fists in the air from this listener!


BUY:  AMAZON.ca / AMAZON.com / AMAZON.co.uk


Furthermore, check out all my reviews: Trevor’s Archives

Trevor “Psychoone” McDougall

Email Me at: Trevor “Psychoone” McD


  1. Rock Your Body
  2. Dangerous Ground
  3. Come Clean
  4. Victory
  5. We Are Gods
  6. Adrenaline
  7. One By One
  8. Nothing To Say
  9. Heaven Must Have Won An Angel
  10. Under The Gun
  11. Rise


  • Erik Grönwall – Vocals
  • Dave Dalone – Guitars
  • Jimmy Jay – Bass
  • Jona Tee – Keyboards
  • Don Crash – Drums