LIQUID STEEL – Mountains of Madness (May 21, 2021)

LIQUID STEEL - Mountains of Madness (May 21, 2021)
LIQUID STEEL – Mountains of Madness

Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements

New release from: LIQUID STEEL – Mountains of Madness (May 21, 2021)

Madness, madness all around…
They were evil things- mountains of madness, whose farther slopes looked out over some accursed ultimate abyss“ (H.P. Lovecraft)

The band announce their return, bringing a fresh powerful sound to fans with the release of their long-awaited third album Mountains of Madness. The album contains 10 songs that are both rich in variety and also have all the “typical Liquid Steel elements” as well as some surprises to keep it fresh.

Inspired by legendary author H.P. Lovecraft’s masterpiece of the same name, Emanuel Pichler once again came up with some spectacular artwork. The forthcoming album is a follow-up to their 2016 acclaimed Midnight Chaser record and is set to be released on May 21, 2021, on Metalizer Records accompanied by a video for the song “Heavy Metal Fire” showing the band in all its glory.

Along with the album announcement, the band also reveal their first single and video from the album, “Traveller in Time” premiering on Spotify on April 2. A song that is inspired by H.G. Wells’s book “The Time Machine” and is about a man and his wild journey through time and space” says the band.

Some of the songs, like “City Lights”, or “Victim of the Night”, have a more personal touch than on our previous albums. “Victim of the Night” is a song about taking chances. Don’t be afraid to jump into the unknown because you never know where you’re gonna land and what’s gonna happen. Life’s full of surprises. The song and a video will be released on April 30 on Spotify.

The Austrians also break into new territory musically as well as lyrically with their monumental title track “Mountains of Madness” where they recreate an intense atmosphere of anxiety and madness. Inspired by the book of the same name, the song is about an Antarctic expedition where all kinds of weird things happen to the crew.
Alpine Warrior” has some surprises in store too. Based on the life of a 5000-year-old Neolithic mummy that was found in the Alps, the song tells both the tragedy and mysteries of “Ötzi” the man from the ice.

Thunder and Lightning”, the closing track on the album, is about medieval crusades. “We tried to write the lyrics based on actual diary entries from this dark period in time. We also used a choir for the first time to recreate the chanting of a marching army and we’re really pleased how it turned out.

The band once again recorded Mountains of Madness in Studio Hundert in Tyrol with producer Jay Hundert who has worked with the band for a second consecutive album. “It was a fantastic experience to work with Jay one more time. We had a great laugh, despite all the madness involved in creating this monster”, says the band.

The full tracklist is:

1) Traveller in Time (4.01)
2) Victim of the Night (4.58)
3) Heavy Metal Fire (3.44)
4) Mountains of Madness (5.19)
5) Phoenix (5.47)
6) Alpine Warrior (6.41)
7) On the Run (4.21)
8) City Lights (3.36)
9) Nothing to lose (2.50)
10) Thunder and Lightning (5.54)


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements here.

Listen to the new music on CGCM Radio and join our socials:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *